Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-12-2019, 08:06 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Norcold fridge cooling capacity?

I have a 1989 vintage Norcold fridge/freezer unit. I am currently living in the RV as I build a house. The fridge freezes properly (ice cubes, ice cream, etc.) but the fridge part won't get down below 40 degrees F. I live in the SoCal desert and it has been over 100 degrees for weeks. My question: If the freezer is working properly but the fridge isn't getting cold enough, is this just a symptom of an old fridge not keeping cool due to the insane outside temps? Second question: If the freezer is working properly does that mean that the fridge is too? I guess that's just two ways to ask the same question...
Old 09-13-2019, 04:26 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

I am far from a Norcold expert, I will however point out a couple things. Where is the thermistor positioned in the frig? The thermistor is the thing attached to the 2nd or 3rd fin in the frig. Lower on the fin higher temp, higher on the fin colder temp. Some times lack of air movement will also keep the temp. higher. Folks have added a small fan to help move the frig air around.
be happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 09:06 AM   #3
Winnebago Owner

Seems on our norcold it struggles to cool on very hot days works best on cooler days
Cataska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 04:30 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper

That is why they call them a "Nevercold" , at 100 they need some serious airflow over the coils on the back, and it helps it you have some micro fan blowing air over the fins in the refer part when it is in cooling mode.

Get the ARP with fan option. Only it needs more than 2 fans for the interior fins. 3 oir 4 is better.
waterman480 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 05:17 PM   #5
Winnebago Camper

Desert