Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-12-2010, 02:51 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Norcold 3way Refrigerator user error

I'm new to the RV world and I'm sure my husband and I are causing the problem.. The RV is connected to a power cord. I had the freezer working. The refrigerator took all night but My husband said it was cold this morning.. Now I have nothing the frig is warming up and I don't have lights across the top where you select auto. My husband said he turn off the AUX last night before bed. Any thoughts? I'm sure we are doing something wrong..
SarahAnders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 03:18 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Welcome Sarah to irv2.
You need 12 volts connected to refrigerator comes from batteries or converter and you should have your sure power cable plugged into a house 110 outlet so your converter is on and its charging your house batteries. If your house batteries loose their charge you will have no lights in coach either.
Once you have that put the fridge in the AUTO mode so if you loose electric the fridge will transfer to LP gas operation.
The fridge will take a good 12 hours to cool down and freezer will get cold first.
If you can tell us model of fridge it would help.
By AUX do you mean your battery cut off switch, that would cut off 12v power for control board for your fridge.
Will take a guess and give you this link. Its a 1200 model but operations are similar.
Let us know how you are making out we'll walk you through it.
Congrats on your new motor home.
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 03:47 PM   #3
Winnebago Watcher