Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-12-2020, 09:27 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

How to know if my MH has basement heating

Hello
I'm new to all this. I find it amazing what all is still currently still working great in my 1998 Winnebago Adventurer 35WP. How do i know if mine is equipped with basement or under belly heating as I'm am worried about winter trips?
Jrbowen62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 09:38 AM   #2
Site Team

You should know, that there is not really "under belly heating". At most, the propane heater's air ducts are routed abound part of your tanks. These provide a little bit of warmth in the general vicinity and do help a little for occasional cold weather (high-20's for less than 24hrs at the coldest).

Winter trips? They are trips you take south to be in above freezing temperatures.

No real cold weather trips are possible without extra outside skirting and heating.

About this on your 22-year old Adventurer I don't have any idea. Certainly this is a "feature" of newer models.
Old 06-12-2020, 09:41 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

A couple of ways to do it. Start your furnace and let it run for about an hour on a warm setting so it runs continuously.

1. See if there are a few places where you can detach the under bellly cover, reach inside and see if you feel warm air.

2. Use an IR gun to measure the surface temperature of the under belly. If it is ten degrees or so above ambient you probably have heating.

David
DavidM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 11:31 AM   #4
Winnebago Master