Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-18-2020, 06:59 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Water flows out when I haven't opened any wastewater valves!

Hello,
I've got a problem and am hoping to find some advice! I've got a brand new Winnebago Sunstar 29V. Today I thought I'd empty the wastewater tanks, which I've never done before. So, I had all the hoses and I was ready to get started. But the second I took the black dust cap off the sewage drain outlet, wastewater flowed out all over the Water Service Center, the ground, and my feet! Mind you, I DID NOT open the Black Waste Tank Drain Valve or the Gray Waste Tank Drain Valve. I have NEVER touched those levers. So why the heck is wastewater flowing out just because I've taken off the dust cap? All input would be appreciated!
JCH
JCH200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2020, 08:19 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

A couple things can do this and that leaves the cure up in the air for a bit.
This is a link to one brand of valve that is pretty much like all of these to look at:
https://www.amazon.com/Valterra-Wast...a-867312307670
What can happen and I find it really irritating on new Rv is that there is something left in the tank, like construction straps, maybe? What I have found was the yellow plastic strap like PVC pipe comes bundled with!