Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-30-2023, 07:39 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

To Bypass Water Heater or Not? 2023 Micro Minnie 2108FBS

Hi everyone! Newbie here! We are new to everything RVing. We purchased a new 2023, 2108fbs the beginning of February. We live in south Florida, so no winterizing involved. I just found out I should've drained all the fresh water that's been sitting in there that the dealer put in to test the trailer before we took ownership. I found the steps in the manual. I have been reading posts, looking at videos and I'm still trying to wrap my head around the steps. It doesn't say to bypass the water heater. Some videos say to bypass it, not to put the bleach mixture through it because the bleach will cause rust? 🤷🏻*♀️😖

I have drained all the water out of the fresh tank from the line under the FR tank and opened all the valves to drain any water in the lines inside the RV. Do I still need to drain from the low point under the bathroom sink (I will need to take off paneling in bathroom to find them).

I haven't drained water the out of the water heater pending what I'm supposed to do? If I don't not sure how to bypass it.

Thanks for helping me understand this better!
artsyquilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2023, 08:53 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

All things have to be done depending on what we each have going on! So no complaints if others have different methods of doing the water systems.
But understanding why there is a bypass my be a start. When we do th ewinterize, we often put Safe intifreeze in that is less apt to harm us if we do drink some of the remains after we drain and refill.
We add that pink antifreeze and run it through all the lines. But if we don't bypass the heater, that alone takes six or more gallons of antifreeze!