Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-05-2023, 09:16 AM   #1
Life is a Journey

Septic service to dump tanks?

Newbie here that is living in a Journey 39Z Class A. The biggest issue that I have is that my semi-permanant parking spot doesn't have a sewage connection, so I have to break camp periodically to drive to a nearby RV service center and dump my tanks. I called a septic service to see if they were interested in dumping my tanks on a scheduled basis, and the owner replied that he was interested, but didn't know if the vacuum pulled by his septic truck would damage the tanks.

I hadn't thought of that, does anyone have experience using a septic service to pump out the tanks? Is it safe and is it affordable?
WMark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2023, 10:33 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

No experience but when dealing with community wells, fire hydrants and trucks, one way to do away with the worry of suction is opening a large vent. Fire trucks can fold up steel tanks if not venting.
So I would assume simply opening the stool flap while the pumping is going on would allow plenty of air to remove any question of too much suction.
Sounds like this is a new question for that person, so understandable that he might question it. always nice to find folks who "THINK" !!!
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2023, 11:39 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

Septic hauler trucks can somewhat control the amount of suction with the engine throttle, however morich is right, too much suction can quickly collapse a thin plastic tank.