Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-05-2021, 06:46 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Low Point Valves - Winterizing

Hi!

I have a 2020 2202 RBS Minnie Winnie travel trailer. I bought it new from a dealer in October.

I am completely new to travel trailers but have years of experience winterizing boats and houses so I have basic concepts.

My problem is with the low point valves. They are down below a cutout behind the water pump and when I reach over the pump I can feel them and barely see the tops. I tried turning them to be inline with the pipe but not a drop would come out (I have a bucket under the drains under the Minnie to see if anything happens). I tried pulling them up and down but they wouldn't budge.

I finished the winterization as best I could by blowing out the fresh and black valves and pumping RV antifreeze through all faucets.

Still perplexed by the low point valves, I reached one hand over the water pump to touch one, then the other hand with my phone to take the attached picture. They are buried so low that I couldn't even see what I was taking a picture of.

When I got home and studied it, it looked like there were collar clips potentially holding the valves in place from moving up and down.

I then found something on this thread where someone pulled those pins off and lost one (completely understandable from what I can see), and the response was not to lose them because they need to be replaced after being closed.