Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-29-2012, 10:30 AM   #1
Site Team

How to add bleach to clean fresh water

Have a 2013 Itasca Sunstar, and I hear how important it is to disinfect the fresh water at least annually. However, on this model it is not clear how to get the bleach in the fresh water tank. The opening to fill the tank will not take a funnel and even if it would the bleach would just come out again, as if it is under pressure.....any advice is really appreciated.
macnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 11:18 AM   #2
Winnebago Watcher

I am new at this and have not yet performed this procedure.

However, a nice guy parked next to us during a recent trip we made, told me to pour the disinfectant into the water fill hose before attaching it to the hydrant. Our coach has a system to siphon a mix into the tank from a bucket. The pour in the hose method sure seems simpler.

BTW: He told me he uses Hydrogen Peroxide rather than bleach as the HP will do the job then dissipate so as not require the extensive flushing necessary to get rid of the bleach smell/taste.

He also mentioned a product to ad between annual treatments to keep the water fresh.

I float this out there hoping for feedback one way or the other....please chime in.

C&K
DoubleCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 01:41 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

According to the Sunstar brochure you should have a gravity tank fill with a lockable door. Ours on the passengers side just behind the main entry door.

The easiest way to get the bleach in is using a large plastic funnel with a length of clear plastic hose pushed onto the exit end.