Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-13-2021, 08:31 PM   #1
Mal
Winnebago Watcher

Flying Blind!

I'm a former commercial pilot, but I'm flying blind when it comes to RV plumbing!

My wife has wanted to RV around America for years. We both recently retired. One day last summer she came home telling me there was a "nice little RV" (2006 View) for sale nearby & she wanted me to check it out with her, which we did & met the man selling it--a local guy with a good rep as an antiques dealer.

Long story short, we bought it. I musta been drunk--I didn't know the first thing about RVs, but the guy assured us it had been well-cared-for (133,000 miles, he was the 3rd owner).

Anyway, it runs well for its age. We replaced the cabin batteries, the back-up display cam, & fixed a balky auto-step. But we have yet to do anything with the water & black tank systems. The previous owner implied it had been winterized.

I've located the relevant access points but beyond watching some YouTubes on the subject, I want to put this on the road this spring but I'm unclear where to start. Any advice would be appreciated.
Mal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2021, 10:39 PM   #2
Proud “No Intent” Owner

Congratulations on your purchase.

The foremost question seems to be how go de-winterize your unit?

I’d start by downloading the manual specific to your unit, and following their instructions.

I’ve never had to do that, (we live in CA), but I’d I had to, that’s what I’d do.
Old 02-14-2021, 03:59 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

The key is to have fun, the learning curve is really not as bad as you may think.
Here are some Winnebago links that will get you started in the right direction.