Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 02-26-2020, 09:24 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Any way to drain the macerator hose?

Hi all,

I am new to RVs. I just bought a used Winnebago ERA that has a macerator pump for waste. When emptying the tanks, the pump works fine and pumps the waste through the hose until the tank is empty.

However, at that time the water stops flowing, and I still have a bunch of grey water in the attached hose. Gravity will not drain the hose, and no amount of wiggling the hose will cause it to drain.

Is this normal? Am I doing something wrong?
divide0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2020, 09:39 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Is the macerator for the gray tank only? I use a 3" cap with a 3/4" male end that fits a standard garden hose. I made up a 1" hose for the gray water tank with a 3/4" female fitting on one end and just pump the gray tank through it. It usually empties completely.
The cap is like this one.
https://www.amazon.ca/Valterra-Produ...563Z2JV50T4S8V
Winterbagoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2020, 10:00 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

On my era, the macerator is permanently installed from the factory. Both black and gray go through it.

The problem is that without the pump pushing the water through, it becomes trapped. Like putting your finger on the end of a drinking straw.
Old 02-26-2020, 10:04 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

I always get scorched for doing this, but maybe try asking the question in the Class B section of the forum. Winnebago only has about 6 types of B vans, and maybe someone over there might have a solution for you.
Winterbagoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 10:23 AM   #5
Winnebago Master