Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-12-2014, 01:03 PM   #1
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,647
Winnebago GPS map updates. HOW????

Being a 2011 Itasca the River Park provided GPS is the XGS2 2010 system. I have been trying to find a way to update the maps and I am having no luck. If anyone has information on how to do this I will be grateful if you will share it. I have searched the River Park and XiteSolutions North America sites and I am at a loss.

Thanks for your input.

Rick Y
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 01:18 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
Tom-NC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Murphy, NC, USA
Posts: 294
Did you try contacting Winnebago and ask them about it? I'm sure there must be a way through a USB port using a Zip Drive.
__________________
2014 Winnebago Adventurer 35P,Ford F-53, V-10
2011 Ford Escape,2000 Roadmaster Tow Dolly
"Have a Great Day, Enjoy RVing."
Tom-NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 03:38 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
DancinCampers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: On the Road Westward
Posts: 699
I went to

www.naviextras.com

Downloaded their Toolbox. I update using the SD card in my unit.
__________________
Dan & Sharon & Kasey (Our Yorkie Puppy (12 Yrs Old) On the Road (2012 Journey 36M, 2006 Jeep Liberty)
USN-Ret ('65-'93) Fulltimers, Class of 2012
DancinCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 08:44 AM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by DancinCampers View Post
I went to

www.naviextras.com

Downloaded their Toolbox. I update using the SD card in my unit.
Thanks for this info. I had managed to get to the naviextras web site before this post but I was not registered yet and I was getting stuck at picking the GPS manufacture name. After a bunch of reading I finally figured out from the fine print that the device is made by Xite Solutions. Once I found that name in the dropdown list I was golden. Another minor hesitation was model ID. My documentation lists my unit simply as XSG2 2010. The update site lists XSG2NA.

After registering and downloading the Toolbox did I figure out I was safe. The SD card worked. I had a minor free update to install. I didn't do the map update yet. The $99 for a one year 4 quarter update and the $79 one shot update are the choices of interest to me. Because of all the changes happening to the major highways I think it is wiser to continue with what I have for another year. Just in TX alone many road sections have been relocated and new interchanges are being added. I hope the maps are keeping up with these changes.

Thank you folks for reaching out to me. Both suggestions are valid and valuable. Love this forum!

Happy trails,

Rick Y
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 11:17 AM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
cochise1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 71
In our 2014 Adventurer, the Infotainment system uses the Rand McNally GPS system. I downloaded the RM Dock for my Mac and followed instructions. Lifetime updates were already paid for by Winnebago. Not sure when Xite started using RM though.
__________________
Bev& Keith
Kyriana(14)Aidan(11), Emily and Olivia (2) Grandchildren
2014 Winnebago Adventurer 38Q
2013 Honda CRV, Roadmaster Falcon AT, Invisibrake
cochise1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 05:39 PM   #6
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by cochise1949 View Post
In our 2014 Adventurer, the Infotainment system uses the Rand McNally GPS system. I downloaded the RM Dock for my Mac and followed instructions. Lifetime updates were already paid for by Winnebago. Not sure when Xite started using RM though.
Good for you. Because map updates are often 'out of date' when made available I feel they should be lifetime updates because of the initial cost of the better GPS systems. We have that option on our Garmin nuvi. I don't know if my coach GPS could be converted with a RM SD card. Never thought of doing so. For now I think I will stick with what we have.

Rick Y
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 06:11 AM   #7
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 10
I cannot get the RM dock to work with my Mac.
Any suggestions?
Rbt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 10:11 PM   #8
Winnebago Owner
 
cochise1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 71
Just got my rig back from shop. I will pull my SD card tomorrow and search for updates and see if it still works for me. I assume you already downloaded and installed the RM Dock for your Mac. Which Mac do you have. I had a mid 2010 iMac but will try it for first time on a 2013 Mac Mini.
__________________
Bev& Keith
Kyriana(14)Aidan(11), Emily and Olivia (2) Grandchildren
2014 Winnebago Adventurer 38Q
2013 Honda CRV, Roadmaster Falcon AT, Invisibrake
cochise1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 10:41 PM   #9
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 10
I have iMac 2012 quad core. Contacted RM totally not helpful.
The dock attempts to start but keeps shutting down.
I know I have lifetime maps with my new Reyo and would love to update them
I will keep trying but appreciate any assistance.
Rbt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 11:14 PM   #10
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 51
Jerichorick, I went to naviextras and paid for the one time update. Imagine my dissapointment when I discovered that the 2 gig SD card would not hold the update. The only way I could update is by deleting Canada and Mexico and not updating Midwest, West and some other things. In several conversations with Riverpark, I have concluded that I will just have to live with this small capacity SD card, unless someone else has had a better experience they can share. The next time my maps get out of date, will just get a garmin. Or, a new rv, hhhmmmm.
__________________
Rusty and Katy
11 Tour 42QD, 07 Chevy Silverado LTZ 4X4
Mickleton, NJ
RBK394 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 07:38 AM   #11
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBK394 View Post
Jerichorick, I went to naviextras and paid for the one time update. Imagine my dissapointment when I discovered that the 2 gig SD card would not hold the update. The only way I could update is by deleting Canada and Mexico and not updating Midwest, West and some other things. In several conversations with Riverpark, I have concluded that I will just have to live with this small capacity SD card, unless someone else has had a better experience they can share. The next time my maps get out of date, will just get a garmin. Or, a new rv, hhhmmmm.
How sad and with a to boot! They say a bigger SD card won't work? We have a really good Nuvi (don't recall the model) with lifetime maps. It works very well but does have its moments. I have not used the coach GPS all that much and I find it a bit hard to get used to. But, with that said, all of the changes in the major roads are probably not in my maps anyway. So, I just have a fancy piece of hardware filling a hole. Are you shore you want a new rv? That QD is a winner in my opinion.
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 04:09 PM   #12
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 43
The bigger SD card won't work because the manufacturer parked the "license" files for the GPS at very specific spots on the card. If they aren't located in that exact spot, the unit won't load.

This was a common scheme back in the days of the early IBM AT computers that had only floppy drives. I find it annoying that they would do this. I had called RiverPark asking for help in moving the license files to a larger card, but haven't gotten anywhere.

The next idea was to figure out how to copy the data to a larger card and get the bits all in the right spots. Just haven't had time to do it. It's annoying that one would have to.
__________________
Cliff McGlamry
2013 Itasca Meridian 42E
cliffm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 06:25 AM   #13
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffm View Post
The bigger SD card won't work because the manufacturer parked the "license" files for the GPS at very specific spots on the card. If they aren't located in that exact spot, the unit won't load.

This was a common scheme back in the days of the early IBM AT computers that had only floppy drives. I find it annoying that they would do this. I had called RiverPark asking for help in moving the license files to a larger card, but haven't gotten anywhere.

The next idea was to figure out how to copy the data to a larger card and get the bits all in the right spots. Just haven't had time to do it. It's annoying that one would have to.
I see that there are several language files on the card. What can be safely removed and not cause problems? As with you, my card only has 1.67G left free. Will deleting the backups help? Can we buy a new programed card from them? That seems like a double purchase though. Yet, I have replaced my car GPS.
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 11:53 AM   #14
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: New york
Posts: 12
not to change the subject, but just got my rig. where is the sd card located(I did check the useless manual) thanks
boba1106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 08:14 AM   #15
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by boba1106 View Post
not to change the subject, but just got my rig. where is the sd card located(I did check the useless manual) thanks
:welcome: if no one has done so yet!

Tilt your screen all the way out. Use the "Settings" icon to get to the control. Look on the bottom of the screen unit. The SD card slot is there. When you put it into your computer you will be able to see your free space. Please let us know what you see. I wonder if they have a larger card now.

Rick Y
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 09:42 AM   #16
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 43
You have to tilt the display out (there are setting to adjust this). The SD card is at the 6 o clock position on the bottom of the frame. Once you tilt it out, you should be able to access it. Just push in on it, and it will then pop out.

Cliff
__________________
Cliff McGlamry
2013 Itasca Meridian 42E
cliffm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 11:36 AM   #17
Winnebago Owner
 
tnteacherguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Winter in Fl, Summer somewhere else.
Posts: 157
Send a message via Skype™ to tnteacherguy
Thanks CliffM,
I'm so glad someone posted this. Naturally, I could have/should have read the manual. But, since someone so nicely put it out here for me to see while I was lurking about IRV2, I hopped right up and updated my card.

I had to perform the operation twice. I think the first time failed because of campground wifi issues.

I no longer get that irritating update/tell me more message when the navi loads.
__________________
2013 Tour QD, Blue Ox, 2013 CR-V, TST Tpms
tnteacherguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 04:04 PM   #18
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: New york
Posts: 12
Thank

thanks I will check again when it is light out but I cannot seem to "tilt" my screen out. I don't want to force it so maybe just too dumb to get it. Like I said I will wait until the weekend when i can take my time and do it in the light. Thanks again to those that answered
boba1106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 10:50 PM   #19
Winnebago Owner
 
cochise1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 71
On our rig, the SD slot is on the right side of the Infotainment System unit. About center from top to bottom. There may be a cover to move. With the unit off, push in on the card and it will pop out.
__________________
Bev& Keith
Kyriana(14)Aidan(11), Emily and Olivia (2) Grandchildren
2014 Winnebago Adventurer 38Q
2013 Honda CRV, Roadmaster Falcon AT, Invisibrake
cochise1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 03:57 PM   #20
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by boba1106 View Post
thanks I will check again when it is light out but I cannot seem to "tilt" my screen out. I don't want to force it so maybe just too dumb to get it. Like I said I will wait until the weekend when i can take my time and do it in the light. Thanks again to those that answered
Punch "eject" that tilts the screen out to expose the single CD slot and also exposes the SD card in the bottom of the screen.

I too ran into the space problem on the SD card with an update and had to delete Mexico, Canada and parts of the East Coast to make the update fit. It would not support a large SD card, now I know why
__________________
Todd
2011 Itasca Ellipse 42QD
74K miles and counting
toddb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps, winnebago


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drivers side Map Light BBBEEBOP Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 12 03-13-2009 07:42 AM
Map of Winnebago Industries Facilities in Forest City,IA rebelsbeach Winnebago General Discussions 0 04-23-2006 06:04 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×