Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2012, 09:46 AM   #1
Winnie-Wise
 
Kazoo Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 373
Radio Volume Too High

I have a new to us '07 Voyage 35L. One minor issue we have is the volume of the in dash radio (magnadyne) and the radio in the outside entertainment center. In both cases when the radio is turned on the default volume setting is extremely loud. It immediately needs to be turned down when turned on.

It is a minor annoyance that I would like to find a cure for. Does anyone know of a way to get the "default" volume set any lower?
__________________
Tom and Barb
'07 Winnebago Voyage 35L
Workhorse W22 chassis FMCA 219315
Kazoo Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 01:35 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Carmel, Indiana
Posts: 135
Initial Volume Level
To program the Initial Volume Level, adjust the volume to the desired level, then press and hold the PWR button for more than 3 seconds. The next time the unit is turned on, the volume will be at this initial level.

This is what I had to do for my outside radio.
__________________
Clayton
2006 Winnebago Journey 36G
Cat 350
CWHTRAINS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:35 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
FIRE UP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 1,722
Gang,
I must be missing something here. I too have the Magnadyne (actually two, one out and one in, like you) But, what ever volume setting I leave it on when the power is shut off, it's that same volume setting when I turn it back on. I just tried it. I set it at 23 and played the radios for a few seconds. Then I shut it down with the power button. Then, when I turned it back on, it was at 23. I did it again at 19. And, when I turned the radio back on, it was at 19.

Is there something different about the Magnadyne models?
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 12:27 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise
 
Kazoo Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWHTRAINS View Post
Initial Volume Level


To program the Initial Volume Level, adjust the volume to the desired level, then press and hold the PWR button for more than 3 seconds. The next time the unit is turned on, the volume will be at this initial level.


This is what I had to do for my outside radio.
Thank you very much for the reply. I haven't found any mention of this in the manuals. I'll give your method a try and hope it works.

Unlike Fireup's radios mine always turn on at the higher volume. I've tried many times to turn it off at the lower volume and it always comes back at the higher level when I turn it on again. It's really loud, it will definately get your attention if you are not expecting it.

OK, I just gave it a try on both inside and outside radios. Doesn't work on mine! Guess I'll try sending an email to magnadyne and see if they have a solution.
__________________
Tom and Barb
'07 Winnebago Voyage 35L
Workhorse W22 chassis FMCA 219315
Kazoo Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 01:18 PM   #5
Winnie-Wise
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 486
What model radio do you have? If you hold the power button for 10 seconds, you should get to system options, including startup volume setting.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 01:19 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 164
What model radios?

I have an Alpine that has the initial volume setup in the settings.. Right after the Gama.
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 01:40 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
I have a Madnadyne M9900CDS in my Bounder. To change the initial volume setting per page 12 of the operators manual. Press and hold the volume knob until "Beep On" is displayed. Press the volume knob until "P-VOL" is displayed then rotate the volume to the desired level and wait a few seconds, the radio will return to normal display. I just verified mine works this way, others may vary.
Hipshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 02:24 PM   #8
Winnie-Wise
 
Kazoo Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hipshot View Post
I have a Madnadyne M9900CDS in my Bounder. To change the initial volume setting per page 12 of the operators manual. Press and hold the volume knob until "Beep On" is displayed. Press the volume knob until "P-VOL" is displayed then rotate the volume to the desired level and wait a few seconds, the radio will return to normal display. I just verified mine works this way, others may vary.
Thank you Hipshot. Actually I have two Magnadyne radios. The in dash unit is a model M9900CDS, the outside radio is a model M3200CD. I'll be on my way outside to see if this works on mine. BRB!.............

THANK YOU! It worked on both radios. PROBLEM SOLVED
__________________
Tom and Barb
'07 Winnebago Voyage 35L
Workhorse W22 chassis FMCA 219315
Kazoo Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:16 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kazoo Tom View Post
Thank you Hipshot. Actually I have two Magnadyne radios. The in dash unit is a model M9900CDS, the outside radio is a model M3200CD. I'll be on my way outside to see if this works on mine. BRB!.............

THANK YOU! It worked on both radios. PROBLEM SOLVED
Thank you for the followup. It feels so good to help a fellow RV'r or anyone for that matter. Often we do not know if our advice was helpfull or not. Thanks
Hipshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radio


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voltage too high... Ramzfan Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 13 08-11-2016 07:36 PM
Radio display in bedroom is too bright Mnichols4 Tech | Toys and Gear 19 06-11-2012 08:32 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×