Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2008, 08:43 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner
 
bjbkkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 81
Not sure this is the right forum but I will start here. I just purchased an Itasca Sunstar. I have a Garmin Nuvio 650 GPS. In my old Class C I mounted it on the window and could reach it no problem. On my new Class A I almost need binoculars to read it since the window is so far away. OK, maybe I jest a little I did the trip back home with it mounted on the backup camera display. It worked and was accessible but I am not sure it is the best location. My question is "those of you that don't have a built in GPS, where do you mount it?"
__________________
2008 Itasca Sunstar 32 K

2005 Honda Element
bjbkkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 08:43 AM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
bjbkkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 81
Not sure this is the right forum but I will start here. I just purchased an Itasca Sunstar. I have a Garmin Nuvio 650 GPS. In my old Class C I mounted it on the window and could reach it no problem. On my new Class A I almost need binoculars to read it since the window is so far away. OK, maybe I jest a little I did the trip back home with it mounted on the backup camera display. It worked and was accessible but I am not sure it is the best location. My question is "those of you that don't have a built in GPS, where do you mount it?"
__________________
2008 Itasca Sunstar 32 K

2005 Honda Element
bjbkkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 08:46 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 33
Hi. We have a 2001 Suncruiser and mount our Garmin GPS on the passenger side window. Of course it has to be operated by the navigator. It works fine in our coach.
__________________
2001 Itasca Suncruiser 35U

Workhorse Chassis
Norm3206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 09:44 AM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 812
I just got a Garmin C330 Street Pilot for Christmas, and I went ahead and purchased the friction mount for it. It has 3 weighted flexible anti-skid 'pod' feet. This mount will allow the GPS to sit on top of my dash module in front of the pilot.

Based on what I have been reading on this forum it should pick up the sattelites just fine being away from the windshield somewhat due to the fiberglass construction of the coach.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 10:17 AM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
BigRedLancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 87
I used double back tape to mound a 4"x4" piece of glass on the console. I use the supplied suction cup mount to hold it in place. I can rotate it so I can see or the DW (navigator) can see. I have a Garmin C330. I had an external antenna, that I used on my old Garmin GPS V, and cable adapter (MCX-BNC) so I can put the external antenna on the dash against the windshield. The combo works great.

With this set up I avoid two problems: 1. Garmin says you are NOT supposed to put the GPS in direct sunlight as it may overheat (so why did the supply a windshield mount?); 2. In Calif. we are not allowed to attach anything to the windshield.

I use this setup in my MH,cars, and truck. Turns out I use my GPS in my cars more that I use it in the MH. I would never purchase a vehicle with a built in GPS.
__________________
2005 Winnebago Sightseer 30B, F53 Chassis
BigRedLancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 04:01 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
David K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grayson, GA
Posts: 344
I mounted my Magellan 760 directly to the wood portion of the dash in my 2002 Ultimate Advantage. I have also mounted the Sirus radio receiver there along with the Pressure Pro monitor. This puts all within easy reach/view and does not obstruct anything. I ran the antenna wires for the Sirus and the Magellan up the driver side post and then outside to be mounted on the air horn metal mounting plate on the roof. All works very well.
__________________
Dave and Karen -- '02 Ultimate Advantage 36 C, 350 HP Cummins, Allison 3060 Tranny
'13 Ford Edge, InvisiBrake
David K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 05:05 PM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
Navy Flier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 221
I have my unit mounted on top of the instrument panel within easy reach. It is about two feet from the windshield and it has no problem receiving up to seven satellites.
__________________
Chuck & Carol
08 Horizon 40TD
04 Honda CR-V
Navy Flier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 06:44 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 375
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by bjbkkb:
Not sure this is the right forum but I will start here. I just purchased an Itasca Sunstar. I have a Garmin Nuvio 650 GPS. In my old Class C I mounted it on the window and could reach it no problem. On my new Class A I almost need binoculars to read it since the window is so far away. OK, maybe I jest a little I did the trip back home with it mounted on the backup camera display. It worked and was accessible but I am not sure it is the best location. My question is "those of you that don't have a built in GPS, where do you mount it?" </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I have a Magellan 6000T portable GPS and don't have it mounted; I simply use the cupholder with the provided mounting stand. GPS works great and it's easy to read.
Richard 34A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 06:59 AM   #9
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: McDonough, GA
Posts: 21
In a related question, I received a new Garmin c550 for Christmas. I tried it out first in my car and it worked just great plugged into my 12v receptical, however when I tried it in my Journey this weekend, I realized after about 3 hours that it was running off its battery and that the 12volt receptical in the Journey wasn't charging the Garmin. Eventually the battery died down and I couldn't use it anymore on that drive. Later I went around the coach trying it in each of my 12volt outlets and sure enough, it wouldn't run in any of them. So, my question is has anyone else had this problem and if so, how did you solve it?
__________________
Bonnie Young
2004 Journey 32T
bjyoung29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:08 AM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 375
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by nu2rvs:
In a related question, I received a new Garmin c550 for Christmas. I tried it out first in my car and it worked just great plugged into my 12v receptical, however when I tried it in my Journey this weekend, I realized after about 3 hours that it was running off its battery and that the 12volt receptical in the Journey wasn't charging the Garmin. Eventually the battery died down and I couldn't use it anymore on that drive. Later I went around the coach trying it in each of my 12volt outlets and sure enough, it wouldn't run in any of them. So, my question is has anyone else had this problem and if so, how did you solve it? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I can't imagine that your GPS simply doesn't work when other 12v powered equipment does... do you have power to each 12v outlet, or are they all 'dead'? When you first unplug your GPS, is the 12v socket 'dead' but then cycles back on, possibly after cooling off? Of course, I would think that it would blow a fuse and then the fuse would have to be replaced...
Richard 34A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 09:45 AM   #11
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Buxton, North Dakota
Posts: 1,037
Some plugs don't work in all makes of sockets. I have run into this a couple of times. Sometimes the dual socket adapters will work as an "adapter."
__________________
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 38G F53/ V10 605 watts of Solar
1999 Winnebago Brave 35C Handicap Equipped
F53/V10
1999 Jeep Cherokee & 1991 Jeep Wrangler Renegade
John Hilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 11:24 AM   #12
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Full Time on the Road
Posts: 99
Could there be some connection or unconnection through the radio switch or auxiliary battery switch on the dash?
Our 12volt plugs work all through the coach.
Front Dash, alongside Co-Pilot seat, dinette and in the bedroom.

good luck
__________________
Capt. Chet

Full Time 2003 Journey DL
CaptChet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 12:25 PM   #13
Winnebago Master
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 812
I had some trouble getting my GPS powered thru my car cigarette lighter socket. I believe the issue is the mating plug and it's connection into the socket. I bet if you do a 12V test you will find power at your socket, but the male plug is not making appropriate contact due to what other poster's have said.
__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 12:34 PM   #14
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Full Time on the Road
Posts: 99
Also, check the plug on the end of the Garman wire. There is a fuse in that plug that might be blown. The plug unscrews at the end near where that little tip sticks out.

Good Luck
__________________
Capt. Chet

Full Time 2003 Journey DL
CaptChet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 03:14 PM   #15
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
I've had problems with many of the 12V male plugs. What seems to work for me is to remove the fuse and spring. Place a small flathead brass screw into the end of the spring that contacts the fuse. This seems to make a better connection and has worked for me on several 12v plugs.
__________________
Pete - Full Timing
2000 Country Coach Magna 40', CAT C10, #5892
2006 Jeep Liberty
phays is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windshield Wiper Park Position DerekJ General Maintenance and Repair 8 12-27-2008 03:01 AM
Sofa footrest won't stay locked in the "in" position CHIPPYSGT Winnebago General Discussions 6 03-29-2008 09:22 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×