Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-23-2020, 12:41 PM   #1
KWP
KP

On the Road Wi-Fi

I have a home bookkeeping business and I'm trying to find out the best - most efficient and cost effective - way to set up my home office in my travel trailer. I have a Micro Minnie. I want to be able to work from my Trailer while I'm traveling without going to a place with wi-fi.

Any information or links would help!

Thank you!
Kim Prebish
[email protected]
KWP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 01:21 PM   #2
2006 Itasca Meridian 39K

I'm not a techie but I'm sure you'll hear from those who have a better handle on the technical solution, but I'll share with you the $40 a month system that I use for both my home and motor home. Below is a youtube you might look at that explains the system, it connects to the Verizon network. You can use an old phone or do what I did is I purchased their $25 new Samsung and it drives the whole network. You do need to get the travel modem to allow it to connect multiple devices. Works for me. $40/ month, no contract.

Wingchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 01:43 PM   #3
Site Team

Kim, the only real answer, if internet is necessary, is to use MiFi devices. These provide a cellular router inside your TT and give you access to the internet via cellular broadband.

The general category is called a Mifi - but you'll see Verizon call theirs a Jetpack and some times ATT calls them a broadband datacard. But it's all the same.

Because no one provider covers every place you might travel it's helpful to have more than one account. We use ATT and Verizon. About 80% of the places we visit have good service on either one of those two. But in the other 20% of places only one of the two is practical for use.