Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-25-2018, 11:24 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Unhappy Newby Winnebago owner needs tech help

Hello,
I am new to the RV life and have made a big mistake with my 2016 Winnebago Vista HE:
I caught the TV antenna on a low clearance entry and ripped it off. Yeah I forgot that the rig is over 12 feet tall.
I have since put a new antenna head on the roof mounted base, but I am unable to figure out how to get the wall mounted TV off the wall so I can re string the antenna cable back to the antenna from the TV.
The 32 inch TV is mounted solidly very close to the wall.
I have a little experience with wall mounts in houses, but none in an RV where everything is so close to the wall.
I assume there is are locking screws somewhere on the bottom of the mount to keep the TV from jumping up and off the wall, but I am unable to find them.

If anyone can give direction it will be much appreciated.
Short55w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 07:54 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

If your Vista is like mine - If you get on a small step ladder you will see a metal plate at the top of TV that has a row of screws across it. That plate is attached to the back of the TV and is held to another metal bracket screwed to the all behind the TV. If you remove those screws the TV can be raised upward and it will release from the metal wall bracket. Be ready to hold the TV against the wall after you remove all the screws or it will tip forward. Be ready to carry the weight once you get the two brackets separated. Be ready with a table or helper as you can't lower the TV all the way to the floor until you get the cables disconnected. On some TVs the power cord plug is not accessible behind the TV and in that case you may HAVE to have the table ready to sit the TV on as the power cord won't allow the TV to go all the way to the floor.