Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-14-2007, 04:04 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Hi,
We are thinking about getting a GPS system for the motorhome. We were wondering what system you are using, and if it has every sent you down a road that was NOT RV friendly?

Thanks for any info.
Linda and Ed Lavin
2002 36' Journey DL
The Lavin's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 04:04 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

Hi,
We are thinking about getting a GPS system for the motorhome. We were wondering what system you are using, and if it has every sent you down a road that was NOT RV friendly?

Thanks for any info.
Linda and Ed Lavin
2002 36' Journey DL
The Lavin's is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 04:49 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

I have been using a Garmin Street Pilot III for a few years now (there is a newer model). In rental cars, and on my Harley, as well as the new WB 31C. It has helped me get from coast to coast a couple of times.

I would suggest always using a little common sense when following the dirctions. After all, it is just software. There are errors! All in all though, it is a very good tool to find your way. I have set up the address of a hotel in a place I have never been, and used the directions to find it in the dead of night!

Now with that said, I need to figure out how to make the unit a little more stable sitting on my dash with these rough roads!

Dan
Old 08-14-2007, 05:02 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

Your going to get alot of answers to this question heres one to get you started simple and inexpensive.
GPS
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 05:05 PM   #5
Winnebago Owner

I have been using a Garmin C340 in the car for about 2 years, it is a great unit. I have the Delorme LT20 on a laptop in the MH. Great software, very interactive and will give you all sorts of info.