Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2006, 11:57 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
I am trying to install satellite radio in my 2003 Suncruiser but can not fine any aux input in the back of the RV radio. Has anyone done this or know how to do it. I have tried using the FM transmitter but the resection and static is bad.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Mr Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 11:57 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
I am trying to install satellite radio in my 2003 Suncruiser but can not fine any aux input in the back of the RV radio. Has anyone done this or know how to do it. I have tried using the FM transmitter but the resection and static is bad.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Mr Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 12:45 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
John_Canfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Back at the ranch
Posts: 2,041
On my radio, there are left/right phono plugs hanging off the rear of the radio. Couldn't tell you if all years and all RV Radios have the aux input.

If yours really doesn't have aux inputs, you can buy a gizmo that installs in-line with the radio's antenna. Not sure how exactly it hooks up to the satellite receiver but there are a bunch of web sites specializing in after-market goodies that probably explain the use.

Welcome to the forum!
__________________
--John

2005 Horizon 40AD, 2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
John_Canfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 02:44 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise
 
rvten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Crossville, TN USA
Posts: 397
I have an older radio. Still has a tape deck. I use this to conn. my SAT. rec to. I tried the FM deal. Did not like it.
__________________
Tom & Bonnie
2008 Winnebago Aspect 29H
A Class C Not a B+
2010 Ford Flex
rvten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 02:17 AM   #5
Winnebago Master
 
ichn2go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seaford, VA
Posts: 1,046
Some models of the RV radio do not have Aux input. Altho I have read where often times the connections are in the wire bundel down near the floor. In my case it was said to remove the walkie talkie panel and see if the connection wasn't near the floor. If you remove the radio and get the model number call the manufacturer they will give you "poop".

That's why I need the "electro meister" in VA.
Good luck
__________________
Happy Trails! ICHN2GO, Seaford VA,
06, 34 Newmar Ventana
02 Jeep Liberty
ichn2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 02:37 AM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
Belgique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 419
If your radio has a cassette player, then it is easy: XM sells an adapter that works very well. True audiophiles do not like anything but hardwired but the cassette is good for my ears...it is a LOT better than the FM transmitter.
__________________
Hickory, NC. 2007 Fleetwood Discovery 40X
Belgique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 10:07 AM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
BigTrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eagle, ID
Posts: 228
I had a Sirius hooked up to my Discovery for a long time (now it is in my F-150) and I have to say it sounds very good just going through the FM Modulator. My new Horizon is going to come equiped with a Sirius unit and I'm sure it will be hardwired instead of transmitted, but either way, it works well in my opinion. If your using a modulator, it is absolutely necessary to make sure the station you are trying to modulate through has NO radio station transmitting withn a close proximity of the one you want to use. I look for at least 2 frequency's either way of the station I want to modulate on and have no problem. If your traveling though, you will have to change the modulator from time to time when you enter other areas that are using your frequency or one that is close.
__________________
Big Trace

2006 Itasca Horizon 40FD
BigTrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 06:01 AM   #8
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
I use the FM transmitter on my 2001 Horizon because it will play all three radios (dash,bedroom & outside) You can adjust the FM output strength on your unit. I have been all over lower 48, Canada and Alaska without interferance on the dash radio. I have had some at times on the bedroom and outside.
PeteBar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F-53 In-Dash Radio Auxiliary Connector ed rzepka Tech | Toys and Gear 9 05-09-2016 08:39 PM
input plug on back of radio ichn2go Tech | Toys and Gear 6 08-12-2005 01:11 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×