Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2011, 10:06 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Towed Vehicle Brake

OK, I'm a total Rookie. Now that's out of the way, I need some advice on a tow behind braking system for my '08 Chevy Cobalt. I have a dealer about 5 miles away who has suggested an Even Brake system. He states it's cost effective (dealer speak for inexpensive), easy to set up, reliable, and can be moved from vehicle to vehicle. I am somewhat mechanically inclined, but not a rocket scientist. Any suggestions would be very helpful.
Thanks in advance,
Dan
Pelledan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 10:21 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I use the ReadyBrake. Simple, purely mechanical, and the least costly. It has worked well on my HHR, and your Cobalt is pretty much the same vehicle underneath. They also make a super tow bar with integrated brake actuator if you need a tow bar.
ReadyBrake
Old 01-04-2011, 10:23 AM   #3
Winnie-Wise

I started with an Even Brake system because of the portability. When the Even Brake is not in use is has to be stored and you have to go thru the setup procedure each time you install it. It has to be removed before you can drive your tow car.

When it failed I replaced it with the SMI Stay-in-Play. Now all I do is plug in the tow lites and flip one toggle switch. Nothing to hook up or unhook in the tow vehicle.

If you plan on keeping the Cobalt as your tow, I would suggest something like the Stay-in-Play.

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 10:25 AM   #4
Winnebago Master

I have used Brake Buddy for 6 years and it works well. Easy to set up and yes, you have to store it somewhere when not in use.
2016 Independent Publishers Book Awards Winner
LK23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 01:34 PM   #5
Winnebago Master