Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2007, 06:11 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

I am new to RV'ing and have just purchased a 03 Winnebago Chalet 22' on a Ford E350 Chassis. What is the general life expectancy of the brakes? Do the fronts wear out sooner than the rears? I know it depends on the driving and all that other stuff, but what are some of your experiences?

Thanks in advance for all responses, Jim
Finkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 06:11 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I am new to RV'ing and have just purchased a 03 Winnebago Chalet 22' on a Ford E350 Chassis. What is the general life expectancy of the brakes? Do the fronts wear out sooner than the rears? I know it depends on the driving and all that other stuff, but what are some of your experiences?

Thanks in advance for all responses, Jim
Old 02-28-2007, 05:06 AM   #3
Winnebago Owner

Having bought several used Motorhomes the 1st thing I do is take it some place and have the brakes inspected and have the brake fluid changed. I don't care if the thing won't go but I want to make sure that the MH will STOP. Having said that on the class A I own now when they were inspected at 14,000 the shop said they had 50% left.

Many shops will do a free brake inspection, around here I go to a Les schwabb tire store.

Enjoy

Seattle, WA
rvcarpenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 05:19 AM   #4
Winnebago Master

I would think the "average" life of brakes on a motorhome would be about 75,000 miles assuming it gets driven 8,000 - 10,000 miles per year, and all normal maintenance procedures (including replacing the brake fluid and lubing the slides) are performed. It also to depends on your driving habits, where you drive, and how heavily you load it.