Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2021, 11:59 AM   #1
Winnie-Wise

Smile Tongue Weight

Does anyone have an answer as to why the tongue weight on the pre2013 - 2016 Minnie 2101 is 100 lbs heavier than the tongue weight on the 2016+ Micro Minnie 2106

Besides the Minnie being 7' - 6" wide and the Micro Minnie being 7' - 0" wide they are identical.

Is it possible the 6" extra width from axle to tongue adds this 100 lbs extra tongue weight?

Thanks,
Bcborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2021, 01:24 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise

If the distance from the axel to the tongue is greater than the distance from the axel to the back bumper, then all else being equal, the tongue weight would increase. However, 100 lbs isn't much and adding any cargo behind the axel will decrease it.
Mtn Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2021, 01:35 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

I’m no expert, but it seems to me that the tongue weight on an empty Trailer would vary from other trailers depending on the weight of the trailer, how that weight sits on the fulcrum created by the tires/axel(s) and how the weight of the trailer is distributed accounting for the non moveable weight like the structure of the box and things like cabinets appliances dinettes couches toilets etc. Once the empty tongue weight is established you then need to get the tongue weight of the loaded trailer with the things you add to the weight like propane tanks, batteries, items stored and placed by you into and on the trailer. I see that some people contend that manufacturers’ empty tongue weights are not reliable. On my 2021 micro Minnie 2100bh, I found the Winnebago tongue weight of 430lbs to be accurate at least according to my sherline scale.