Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-05-2021, 10:20 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Temporary leaving TT. What are the steps?

Hello and Happy July 4th!
I’ve been in my TT for a month now, but will be leaving for 3 months and will return in Oct. for a few weeks. I’m in need of advice as to what I need to do if anything?
Re: Unplug power
Empty gray and black tanks
Turn propane tanks off.
Leave slide in or out?
Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions!
MaggieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 01:16 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

I'm not an expert here, but I'd probably:

- ensure the sink drain traps and shower drain trap were full of water (run the sinks and shower for a minute before draining the grey tank).
- ensure the toilet has a couple of inches of water over the bottom seal.
- drain the fresh water tank, the grey tank, and the black tank.
- drain all the fresh water from the plumbing using the low-point drains.
- drain the water heater.
- prop open the fridge doors.
- probably store it with the slide retracted (my preference).
- make sure the valves on the propane tanks are closed.
- unplug the power and store the cable nicely inside.
- kill the power to the slide (at the control panel by the door) and use the battery disconnect switch in the front storage compartment. Disconnecting the negative battery cable from the battery would be even more effective if you're comfortable doing that.

I'm not quite sure what the best advice is for humidity control while storing a trailer over several months, so hopefully others will have some good advice for you. I close mine up completely in storage but I do visit it once a week and air it out if needed.
Old 07-05-2021, 05:21 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

If water is hooked up turn water off.

After emptying Grey/Black tanks, I'd put a gallon of water in each with chemicals. I wouldn't leave the tanks empty.