Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-25-2021, 08:41 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Speed Limit advisor

I'm still learning new things about our new 21VV. I see that when I'm on the open road where the speed limit is 70 MPH but in the dash it shows 55MPH speed limit. Yet when I come into a town the limit well follow what is posted at that time. For instance when the road sign shows 40 the speed limit in the dash also shows 40. Is this normal or is there a way to have the limit show what the speed limit that agrees with the road signs.

Thanks

Butch
butch50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2021, 09:44 PM   #2
Site Team

Hi Butch,
I hope this prior Thread will help guide you:
https://www.winnieowners.com/forums/...em-358815.html
Eagle5
Old 03-26-2021, 09:32 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

The 55 MPH limit on the dashboard display appears to be a software restriction imposed by Mercedes - perhaps they believe the Sprinter chassis vehicles are supposed to be speed limited to 55...

I reported this to our Mercedes dealer at our last service - and they couldn't provide any assistance to get this fixed. I encountered the same response about the completely useless rear view mirror - they wouldn't remove it because, as far as Mercedes is concerned, the rear view mirror is a required "safety" feature. Winnebago may be in a better position to get the 55 MPH limit removed and to remove the rear view mirror - after the Sprinter chassis becomes a motorhome.

Android Auto and Apple CarPlay on the MBUX display should display the correct speed limit. Plus, the MBUX dashboard speed limit is probably coming from an onboard database, which is guaranteed to be out-of-date, while the apps running on the MBUX display should be using the latest speed limits from their cloud servers.