Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-19-2021, 04:42 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Solar panel upgrade

My ‘19 Navion has two 100w solar panels. We’re half way through a 3 month road trip out west. We generally dry camp for two days and FHU the third. When dry camping the battery voltage drops to around 12 overnight from a daytime high of 14.4. I understand that dropping below 12 wears on the battery and, if done very often, shortens the life of the battery and the battery fails to fully charge. It stands to reason that if I add another solar panel, the batteries should remain fuller longer. However, I’m not an electrician so I don’t know if this is a reasonable assumption. Also, if I add another 100w panel, do I have to similarly upgrade any other gizmo/gadget? Hoping for knowledgeable advice.
BlueGekko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 07:21 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

1. The common perception is to not go below 50% or about 12.1 volts (depending on what chart you use. However, based on what I've recently been reading, most manufacturers say that 80% or about 11.7 volts is the maximum safe discharge. The key factor is how often you do it. 50% is a good rule of thumb for routine discharge but an occasional 80% discharge shouldn't be a problem assuming your equipment will run on the lower voltage. If you have conventional lead acid batteries, you need to keep your fluid levels up. Here's a link with some good battery information:

https://www.trojanbattery.com/tech-s...y-maintenance/