Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2018, 05:36 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Maiden voyage and tons of questions

So I'm totally new to this whole RV thing. We just purchased a 2019 Outlook and took it on our first long getaway. We traveled from Florida to North Carolina. We enjoyed ourselves but I have tons of questions:

1. It poured down rain all day on Friday. We were at our campsite but not exactly level. Water began coming in at the bottom of the slide and soaked the queen mattress on the sides. Is this normal with heavy rains and not being level. And yes, the water followed the direction of our tilt.

2. How long of a hose do you travel with?

3. Our campsite stated it had water but upon arrival, we learned that we had to share with the site next to us and the water was basically on their site. We needed a splitter and our hose wasn't long enough. Does that happen a lot? We found it strange that the campsite wouldn't state that. Oh, we were the only site that had to share from what I could tell.

4. Fridge runs on electric only. But it seemed to build up condensation on the back wall. Why?

5. On the way home, we turned on the inverter to run the fridge but it didn't really seem to stay cool. Is that typical?

6. Our coach battery disconnect switch is right by the door and we must have tripped it several times without realizing it until something didn't work. Any way to prevent it as it is really at hip height and I don't see this as something to avoid in the future.

7. What is the best navigation system for RV? We had a lot of trouble finding spots to camp while on the road using google maps or internet searches.

8. The skylight/ fans in the roof rattle quite a bit and seem a bit cheap. Is there an upgrade any of you would suggest?