Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-11-2022, 06:01 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Electrical problem

I have a 2021 Navion View D with a Greystone Oven and an induction stovetop burner.

Being used to a 50 amp RV where I could run everything at once I am a bit new to 30 amp

When cooking on the induction burner if I turn on the microwave or use it as a convection oven the induction burner turns off.

The induction burner turns back on about 30 seconds after I turn the microwave off.

If I am running the microwave 1st and try to turn on the induction burner it will not turn on. 30 seconds after shutting down the microwave the induction unit comes back online.

Is this an electrical problem or a protective mechanism to not overload the 30 amp service?
Airboss68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2022, 07:22 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airboss68 View Post

Is this an electrical problem or a protective mechanism to not overload the 30 amp service?
It's a protective automatic load selection switch to prevent the circuit from overloading and tripping the breaker ( and from overloading the 30 amp pedestal breaker as well). I have one for the microwave and the electric water heater element which share the same circuit. On mine and yours both the microwave has priority.
Before I found out about this we used to always shut the WH off before using the microwave and AC at the same time, not realizing that it was already being done for us automatically.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	load selection.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	116.5 KB
ID:	184396  
Old 10-11-2022, 08:00 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Thanks
Saves me a lot of troubleshooting for a problem that doesn't exist.

Now I know why there is also a gas burner.
Old 10-11-2022, 09:15 PM   #4
Winnebago Master