Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-20-2020, 07:03 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Boondocking with view adding a tank

Will I am new to boondocking I have a view and I guess we don't know how to conserve very well but what I come up against is not enough holding capacity for grey water. I read that one way to increase was to equalize black and grey but I not a fan of that concept. So I was kicking around removing the spare tire that I will never use and replace it with another holding tank. I seen a company that sells this. 🔍
21-Gallon Mercedes Sprinter Spare Tire Basket Water Tank. Looking for opinions on this concept. Keep in mind I know I said never use, never said I wouldn't need it. But at my age I will call a mobile tire repair which I have already done even in front of my house.
Patjfrisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2020, 09:14 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

The fresh water will run out before the gray or blank tanks need to be dumped.

On the Views, the fresh water tank is smaller than the gray and black tanks, so with a full fresh water tank and empty gray/black tanks - you can't fill up either the gray or the black tanks - until you've refilled the fresh water tank at least once.

On our first few trips with our 21VD, it took us some time to become more efficient in our use of fresh water - particularly for washing dishes and taking showers.

And while that's helped, we probably need to refill the fresh water tank about every 3 days - and dump the gray/black tanks every 5-6 days.
rprochnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2020, 10:47 AM   #3
Site Team

There are some YouTube videos on the efficient use of water and tanks when boondocking.

Here's one:
Old 08-20-2020, 10:59 AM   #4
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by rprochnow View Post
The fresh water will run out before the gray or blank tanks need to be dumped.