Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-16-2021, 07:55 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

12V in Minnie Winnie 25B

Hi everyone,
We are in the search to upgrade from a pop up camper, after tenting for many years, as we are getting older and want to make camping a bit less work and more time for fun. We have narrowed it down to a Minnie Winnie 25B as we are a family of 3. I keep reading that the 25B does not have a 12V option. Since I am new to camping in this way, what does that mean for us? Does that mean it does not have a way to plug into campground electric? Would we be able to add a 12V plug?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks all,
t
TravelingT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2021, 08:31 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

I am not sure what a "12V option" means. It may mean a 12v powered compressor fridge instead of the more traditional propane/110V absorption fridge.

If that is what it means, consider carefully if it will work for you. 12V compressor fridges use much more DC power, at least 50 amp hours daily vs 5-10 amp hours for a propane fridge which uses DC for controls and the gas solenoid valve.

If you dry camp a lot, having a 12V comrpessor fridge probably means switching to lithium batteries to have enough battery capacity to run for more than a day or two as well as adding solar panels to keep them charged up. OTOH with an absorption fridge I can usually go 4 nights of dry camping without discharging my batteries too much.

But if you always camp at full hook up sites, then a 12V compressor fridge cools better in hot weather and is generally simpler.

David
Old 10-16-2021, 09:28 AM   #3
Site Team

I think DavidM is correct.

The Minnie Winnie 25B definitely has 12v batteries, a 12v converter and charging system. And, this "no 12v option" likely refers to the type of refrigerator.