Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-27-2020, 05:54 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Few questions from the future RV-er

I am a truck driver, planning to retire in about two, or three years. I know I'll miss my driving, so I am thinking about buying an RV, preferably class B, or small class C type. However I don't know nothing about makers of those things, what reputation they have, why similar looking van could cost twice more then its competitor, or why class C van, bigger and better equipped then class B, cost much less then smaller vehicle.

I was looking at Jayco Redhawk SE 22A, which I like a lot - from what I see on YouTube - specially the price, but I read some bad reviews about the quality of it. I'd rather have something smaller, more nimble, like Sportsmobile vans, but they cost 50% more. Other class B vans can cost twice, or 3 times more than Jayco. Why?

I don't know much about Winnebagos, except that I see them on the road. How they compare to other brands? Price- and quality -wise?

Which company makes best quality RVs, and best features for the money? Is it better to pay extra for a Mercedes Sprinter, or Ford Transit would be sufficient? How about the RAM van? Is the FWD any good idea for an RV? Or maybe 4WD is a must? What about a diesel or gas dilemma? Any opinion would be greatly appreciated.
Polonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 06:16 AM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Go to the dealership and walk through as many as you can and note how each manufacturer assembles the things you cannot normally see. For example: How does the manufacturer protect the slide-out flooring against the elements? Thor uses paint to protect the plywood, Jayco uses a plastic sheet with metal strips for the rollers, Winnebago uses a metal sheet.

You are on a Winnebago forum, so I would expect the answers here to be biased toward them.