Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2020, 10:25 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Any way to drain the macerator hose?

Hi all,

I am new to RVs. I just bought a used Winnebago ERA that has a macerator pump for waste, installed.from the factory. When emptying the tanks, the pump works fine and pumps the waste through the hose until the tank is empty.

However, at that time the water stops flowing, and I still have a bunch of grey water in the attached hose. Gravity will not drain the hose, and no amount of wiggling the hose will cause it to drain. It is like covering a drinking straw with your finger. The vacuum won't let the hose drain.

Is this normal? Am I doing something wrong?
divide0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2020, 07:41 AM   #2
Site Team

I'm not sure whether this will help answer all your questions but I installed a Thetford macerator on our RV after we bought it. It too holds a vacuum on the left over fluids and is slow to drain that. I do have a gray-tank bypass hose that I can loosen to allow the remaining fluids to drain. Does yours maybe have that feature that you can do the same?
Old 02-27-2020, 10:08 AM   #3
Site Team

Take your finger off the other side of the hose... I mean, open the gray water valve and the remaining water in the hose will drain out.

I installed a Sani-Con on a previous RV and that's the way I did it. When the waste gate valves are closed, the fluid in the hose is trapped. Leave the end of the hose in the dump and open the gray water valve, then lift the hose close to the RV and the fluid will drain out.

Once completed just close the gray valve, cap the end of the hose and put it away. It will be mostly empty. It's tuff to get it fully empty. And that's OK.

Word to the wise -- don't get any holes in the hose. If you do you'll have a waste water jet fountain when the pump is running. Ask me how I know.