Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 11-25-2022, 05:42 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Winnebago Rusted Windshield

I have this problem on my 2008 ellipse. I’ve been an automotive engineer for thirty eight years and I know how important the window sill bond to glass. Why would the government dem it any less a safety issue to the motorhome industry?
Reb1193 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2022, 09:18 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

What is the design that the automotive industry uses where they don't have a rust problem? Zinc plating, stainless steel?

I've had my Winnie for 19 yrs with the original windshield. About 3 yrs ago a 1.5 ft crack shot up about about 3" from the bottom middle corner. Since it was right in-line with the windshield wiper and not in my vision I didn't have it replaced. I was told rust probably made it crack.

Then this summer a golf ball size rock from a gravel truck right in the middle of my line of vision triggered a new windshield . When the glass was removed the only rust in the entire frame was about 1.5 inches of rust under the crack.
The installer told me that what reduced the rust on my coach is the 3M molding I installed across the entire windshield just above the rubber seal. The 3M molding catches the drips from the dew and routes it around and to the back of the windshield. I added it to keep the glass a little cleaner looking and not show the drips. But now I realize it helps a lot to reduce the rust problem too.

Here's what I found on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/Plastic-Diver...33&sr=8-3&th=1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	J molding.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	184696