Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-19-2014, 06:05 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Winnebago 27 N

I am a newbie as far as operating and traveling in a motor home. My wife and I bought a Winnebag 27 N a few weeks ago. So far, we have traveled around a 1000 miles and have enjoyed it very much. I wondered if any other owners had the same issue as I do with the placement of the awning switch or not. It is beside the bottom inside step. I made the dumb mistake of catching the awning with the door. You have to have the door open and reach inside coach to open or close the awning. I enjoy reading the thoughts and info from the forum, and wondered if anyone else had a thought on the placement of awning switch.
WV Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2014, 06:30 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

:welcome:

Glad to have you here with us.

I can't help you with the switch placement. I suppose you can have it moved if it really bothers you.

Good luck and Happy Trails!!!
Old 09-20-2014, 05:24 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Yes, same location and problem with the 26 HE. After I closed the awning on the door, I made a shorter retaining arm to hold the door open. If the door is pinned open, the awning arm will clear the door when it closes. I kept the issued door arm for reaching under the rig to remove my jack pads.

Your only other choice (keeping it simple), is to hold the door almost closed while sticking your arm inside to operate the button.
BBQ Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 11:05 AM   #4
Winnebago Owner

With the door closed, I sit on the floor with my feet in the stairwell and reach down to operate the switch. That way I can watch the awning through the window in the door and the cat doesn't get out.