Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-28-2017, 04:04 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Smile Upgrading the electrical system.

Dear reader,

First, I have a 2000 Winnebago Ultimate advantage. I am new to the RV world. I want to do some upgrades to my electrical system and I am looking for some advice or a debate on how to best fix this up. Back in July I broke my Inverter/charge control system. It is a Xantrex 81201012 Inverter. I found the same inverter on Amazon for about a 1000.00. What broke is the ability to charge my batteries. The inverter will send power to all the electric outlets, but when the generator runs now only the AC Microwave and fridge work. None of the other outlets are working with the generator running. I do have shore power when connected.

I also am experiencing electrical gremlins that discharge my batteries. I want to add some solar to offset the discharge. My two chassis batteries last about 3 weeks before they die. I have yet to figure out how long I have on the 3 coach batteries.

Here is what I ultimately would like to do. Add a 100-watt solar panel to the chassis battery bank and a battery shut off switch. Add at least 200 watts of Solar, but upgradeable for the House batteries. The coach already has a battery disconnect switch for the house batteries. A new charge controller to tie everything together.

How does this sound? Should I stay with the Xantrex 81201012 Inverter? Or upgrade to a pure sine wave inverter by another brand?

Thanks,
Bill
Old 09-29-2017, 07:25 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

This is really a general forum issue, more than a Winnebago unique problem. This kind of problem comes up regularly in general forums, such as IRV2.com.

Anyways I will try to summarize what I think you are having problems with, along with questions.

-- First, you have a 2000 watt modified sine wave (MSM) inverter with a 100amp charger.