Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2021, 06:15 PM   #1
LizzyB

Send a message via Skype™ to benhamliz
Onan Marquis 6500 LP Generator

I am a total newbie to Motorhomes and RVing. I am the 3rd owner of my 35 ft Winnebago 35RQ model with a Cummings pusher engine that has 67000 mls.
The generator is not working and I am wondering if it is too old. A new solenoid has been installed but did not help.I believe it is powered by the propane tank.There are multiple electric outlets in the coach which must mean that the power comes form the generator or shore power. Am I correct in assuming this.
I am trying to find (in S. Florida) where I can get the generator serviced and running.
Hope this thread is not posing too silly questions
I am trying to learn everything from the manuals.
I am so happy to be connected to this community of wise folks and appreciate all the advice that is given
benhamliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2021, 08:57 PM   #2
Veteran RV Owner

Find an RV dealer in your local area that services Onan generators. The other option is to call a "mobile RV service".
armullis59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2021, 07:43 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

The genset is not too old but there is likely to be some smaller parts that are not working right. This is a part of the RV that has not changed much in lots of years, so some basic looking may help. When you say the solenoid was changed, it is important to know which solenoid as there are several that may be involved and only one that really matters to the generator!
It is important to know that the power is getting from the coach batteries to the starter on the gen.