Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 12-20-2019, 02:24 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Lots of questions in one post from a new guy

I posted this on another forum but since this one is Winnebago specific and that's what I am going to buy, I figured I'd try here too:

Hello, all -

I'm new to the RV world, and am looking at purchasing my first motor home. With a budget of maximum $85k and wanting a Class A diesel pusher, I have settled on a Winnebago Vectra 40KD or Itasca Horizon 40KD as my target. Quite a few very nice ones are out there in this price range. I prefer the Cummins 400 HP engine. My tow car will be a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4WD. I have LOTS of questions, hopefully some of you experienced guys and ladies can take a few at a time and give this still learning newbie some insight . Hopefully I'm not breaking any forum rules with this format - if so apologies in advance. So, here goes:

- I'd like to install an all in one head unit that combines GPS nav, stereo, and inputs for rear and two side cameras. I'd like the side cameras to activate automatically when the turn signals are used. Is anyone aware of a unit that can handle all of these functions? Even better if it has Apple Car Play but I know I'm pushing my luck with that.

- The radio by the driver - does that play through speakers only by the driver or does it play throughout the entire coach?

-I see some coaches with solar power units on the roof. What are they used for? Battery charging, running some electronics in the coach, etc? Are they needed and worth it?