Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-17-2022, 07:30 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

LifePO4 battery question

Hi. When my house batteries died, I decided to upgrade to lithium batteries for longevity. I invested on a decent battery and a new solar charger that is compatible with lithium. I didn’t know at the time that lithium batteries are not powerful enough to start the generator. I cannot return the battery so I am stuck with it now. I learned that it is possible to connect the generator to a battery of its own. I think that’s a good solution but I’m not sure if I can pull it off. I’m not technically savvy when it comes to electronics. I found the wiring diagram but couldn’t make anything out of it. Has anybody tried this before? I would appreciate a walk-through as to how to disconnect the generator from the house batteries, attach it to a new one, and later connect them to the house batteries for charging purposes.
Donavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2022, 07:53 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

You'll need to provide more details to get any useful feedback - such as the battery you installed, generator, etc.

In our 2021 View 24D, we have two Lithionics 125Ah Group 31 batteries installed in parallel. I've started our Onan QD 3200 diesel generator in subfreezing temperatures with less than 15% charge on the two batteries - and suspect the generator would start with only one battery turned on.

Assuming everything is wired properly and the lithium battery has some charge in it, it should be able to provide enough power to start a generator.

Though more details would be needed to understand what's happening in your RV.