Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-12-2020, 09:42 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

How to know if my MH is equipped with Banks Power Pac/exhaust

Hello
Newbie here. On traveling i have noticed even on flat roads my 1998 Winnebago Adventurer with a Ford engine will sometimes kick in with a loud exhaust sound coming from the front engine. It will do this sometimes with the engine in overdrive also on a incline. Is this due to a Banks Power Pack or exhaust feature added or just normal?
Jrbowen62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 09:52 AM   #2
Site Team

It's possible that some previous owner added the Banks system, but it's not very common so it would be a long shot. A very long shot.

Exhaust leaks and bad header gaskets are common on older models. So, that's a more likely possibility.

Of course, the transmission is limited in it's ability to deal with hills and it will downshift aggressively and make quite a roar on even slight hills depending on your speed, your weight and the severity of the incline.
Old 06-12-2020, 10:01 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

I'm going with cooling fan.

tderonne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2020, 10:18 AM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by tderonne View Post
I'm going with cooling fan.
Yes! That is a very real possibility as well.
Old 06-12-2020, 11:38 AM   #5
Winnebago Master

If it has a Banks system you'll have exhaust headers instead of the stock exhaust system. Likely also would have a non-stock air intake system.