Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 05-09-2022, 06:25 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Electrical Amp reporting

Hey, newbie here. We purchased a 2008 Winnebago Sightseer WFD34M and have made some modifications (LED lights, furniture, plumbing, etc). We spent the weekend camping with no issues. Came home and my wife was cleaning inside while I change the skylight above the shower, when she told me we had no lights. We were not plugged in to shore power, no power to lights or EMS panel. Checked all circuit breakers and fuses. Engine started fine. Connected shower power and everything came back, except when I turn a couple of lights on I get an amp usuage on display of 36 amps, we are a 30 amp vehicle. Batteries appear to be charged (9 year old interstate 12v deep cycle marine/RV batteries). Everything seems to be good except when I turn on the galley and bathroom in lights, they all work just get a false reading on the panel. Any help appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20220509_200623.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	145.1 KB
ID:	182799  
Papapohli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2022, 07:13 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Yes, it takes a bit to figure out what to expect and there are lots of curves to figure!

So as a first thing to check, those batteries are extremely old, especially for an RV as we treat them rougher than the normal car battery.
So some checks to verify what I feel may be true.
When the RV engine starts, there is an automatic gizmo to connect the coach and start batteries together.