Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-14-2012, 09:37 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Dish Tailgater and 2003 Journey

Hi - I was wanting to see how other folks connected a carry-out RV dish such as the Dish Tailgater and then connected it to the coach like mine. I was thinking of connecting it to the cable TV input jack then having a switch on the other end in the overhead cabinet to send it to the Dish receiver instead of the multi switch box. I don't think the Journey has a aux satellite input on it does it?? It's still new to us and I'm still learning about the coach. Another option I was thinking would be to get a ladder mount for the dish and then run a cable across the roof to where the soon to be gone old King Dome sits. Of course this would not be a fixed mounting for the dish but something I would have to do when setting up camp because there is just not enough things to do after you park.
Old 08-18-2012, 07:19 AM   #2
Winnebago Watcher

I want to know too!

Wish members would jump in on this one. I would find the info helpful too.
Old 08-18-2012, 07:33 AM   #3
Winnebago Owner

My 05 Journey has phone, satellite and cable hookups in the electrical bay.

From reading earlier threads on this subject I believe you can not use the cable hookup for a remote sat dish because of power injection in one of the hookups, but I do not recall which.

Hopefully someone can give you a better answer.
SVTotem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 08:03 AM   #4
Winnebago Camper

Ditto on the electgric bay on my 2001 GB Cruisemaster, but the satellite cable looks like an HDMI connector. I know it was added later because of 2 previous satillite installs (based on roof patches).
Old 08-18-2012, 09:14 AM   #5
Winnie-Wise