Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2020, 12:01 PM   #1
ibdrillin
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Cable tv

So. New at this. At a campground that has free cable. I have the coaxial going into the outside connection on the rv ( intent). Now how do I get it on the tv itself? Thanks
ibdrillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 02:31 PM   #2
Site Team
 
creativepart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Posts: 1,730
It's should already be wired to all of your TVs. But there is one gotcha. If you're also using a TV antenna from time to time then you have to turn off the TV Antenna Signal Booster.

It's a switch that can be difficult to locate. It's a tiny push button, really tiny, right next to the Coaxial input INSIDE your coach. That input is there to connect a SAT receiver to your TVs - and it's a holdover from the last decade when SAT receivers used RF Coaxial connectors to be attached to a TV.

I'm sure this is covered in your Operators Manual, and I encourage you to really get to know that manual. Don't misunderstand, we're always ready and willing to help. But surprisingly most things are covered in there.

You'll find this info in Section 8 Entertainment in your Operator's Manual. Here is a screenshot of that page and it shows the tiny button I mentioned.

By the way, if you've not turned the TV Antenna Signal Booster on, then it might not need turned off. Just saying.

Think of that tiny button as the switch to go back and forth between Cable TV and Antenna TV.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-03-26 at 3.28.21 PM.png
Views:	43
Size:	355.5 KB
ID:	173122  
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
2016 Lincoln MKX Toad
creativepart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:37 PM   #3
ibdrillin
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Thanks. I saw that and turned that switch off. But nothing happened. There is another coax input right next to the one with the switch. So I thought maybe I had to put a small coax connecting the 2.
ibdrillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:40 PM   #4
Site Team
 
creativepart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Posts: 1,730
That would be unusual.

Have you used the TV menu to select CABLE rather than ANT or AIR? And re-scaned for channels after selecting CABLE?
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
2016 Lincoln MKX Toad
creativepart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:44 PM   #5
Site Team
 
creativepart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Posts: 1,730
Make sure you attached the outside cable tv coax to the correct input. There are two right next to each other:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2020-03-26 at 4.43.43 PM.png
Views:	17
Size:	78.0 KB
ID:	173125  
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
2016 Lincoln MKX Toad
creativepart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:45 PM   #6
ibdrillin
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Here is a photo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	503C5D21-B17D-4223-BB7C-3AEF744938C1.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	445.0 KB
ID:	173126  
ibdrillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:46 PM   #7
ibdrillin
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
The manual doesn’t show the other one next to one with the switch
ibdrillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:47 PM   #8
ibdrillin
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
The only this to select is tv , hdmi, hdmi 2, Av, usb
ibdrillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:48 PM   #9
Site Team
 
creativepart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Posts: 1,730
I'm not sure what that's for, but it shouldn't be for that purpose. But it takes what 2-min to test it out?
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
2016 Lincoln MKX Toad
creativepart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:49 PM   #10
ibdrillin
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
I know. I don’t have another cable :-/
ibdrillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:51 PM   #11
Site Team
 
creativepart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Posts: 1,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibdrillin View Post
The only this to select is tv , hdmi, hdmi 2, Av, usb
A typo is making this hard to understand, "The only this to select"

Wait, I get it. That's Source. Select TV as the source.

Then on the remote hit the Menu button. Have you ever operated a TV menu before? You'll need to put the TV menu on CABLE not AIR or ANT and then scan for channels.
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
2016 Lincoln MKX Toad
creativepart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:54 PM   #12
ibdrillin
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Ok. Let me try to look at the menu.
ibdrillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 03:55 PM   #13
Site Team
 
creativepart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Posts: 1,730
Have you met any friends at the campground that can show you how this is done?
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
2016 Lincoln MKX Toad
creativepart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 04:03 PM   #14
ibdrillin
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
You. Are. A. Genius.
That was it. ��������. I’m so happy right now. If I see you at a campground, I owe you a glass of wine. Thanks.
ibdrillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:14 PM   #15
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 883
On the other hand if you found that little switch without an hours effort, I consider you pretty close to a genius yourself! My first one was behind acoax and while I KNEW it was there, it took a real effort to actually see it!
__________________
Richard
2015 Winnebago Vista 31KE on 2014 chassis
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 06:54 PM   #16
Site Team
 
creativepart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Spring Branch, TX
Posts: 1,730
I.B. the converse of this is when you want to use the Antenna. Turn on the booster with that button. Hit the TV Menu and select Air (or ANT depending on your menu choices) and do another channel scan.

If you are staying in one place you can setup the CABLE and scan for channels then push the button and choose AIR on the menu and scan for channels and when done you can simply go back and forth through the two options just by pushing that button.

Once you move to a new location you'll need to go through this all over again.
__________________
2017 Winnebago Adventurer 37F
2016 Lincoln MKX Toad
creativepart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 08:01 AM   #17
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 883
Where this has become somewhat more difficult as things have changed on TV's is the way some antennas need to be pointed in a better direction. It used to be easier to just point it, see how the picture looked and move it slightly one way ot the other to get better picture. Now the whole thin takes much lnger to do that as you get no picture while it scans and then never know which way to turn the antenna to get better or more channels.
I have found an online app that does some of this for me but it's still a pretty awkward deal.
I find DTV Channels app helps to see a map of where TV broadcasts are coming from and how far as well as the power they are pushing. That does give me an idea of which way to point.
__________________
Richard
2015 Winnebago Vista 31KE on 2014 chassis
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 05:01 PM   #18
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Maine
Posts: 98
With some systems you have “ scan for channels” under the menu screen.
MainelyScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 05:03 PM   #19
ibdrillin
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 11
Yes. Someone hooked me up on the process. Thanks.
ibdrillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 09:15 PM   #20
2017 View 24G
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Marina CA
Posts: 5
I reversed the the outlet cover with the little button so that it is now facing the outside of the cabinet so I can finally see it......What a dumb installation.
Foggyfred2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No cable TV... Richard 34A Tech | Toys and Gear 23 07-15-2007 10:01 AM
cable tv set up troth Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 10-04-2006 11:15 AM
Television cable and satellite cable routing wagonmaster2 Tech | Toys and Gear 15 05-10-2006 08:33 AM
Installing a new RF sat cable for Horizon 40AD? LK23 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 02-24-2005 05:19 PM
We need more satellite cable wiring - Any ideas Scooter Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 12 02-09-2005 01:42 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×