Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-13-2011, 06:40 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Smile Best Dinghy for 08 Itasca Sunova

I am a Newbie in the rv world and was wondering what is the best towable for a 34 foot itasca sunova?? I want to tow with all 4 wheels down. Any suggestions( my wife also wants something sporty) Gotta please her.
tipaulfla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:03 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise

Cheve Cavalier, Saturn, any small car towable 4 down. We had a Cavalier, towed it 75,000 miles.
Old 03-13-2011, 07:40 PM   #3
Winnebago Watcher

There is no "best", only best for you. Look at the Motor Home Magazine dinghy towing guide for starters.
sandpiper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 07:53 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise

looky here
2001 32-V Suncruiser,Ford V-10, 310 HP, 4 Koni FSD's, KVH Tracvision,trickle charge, awning travel lock, 1 dinning room slide; no roof leaks, 03malibu toad sometimes, Blackhawk all terrain towbar, Roadmaster brake Pro,1 wife,1 westy, life is good!
bobpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 08:51 PM   #5
Winnebago Owner

Location: If something hasn't broken on your RV, it is about to.
I can only comment on our experience. We have a 2006 Honda CRV two-wheel drive and it has been great as a 4-wheel down toad. We had to make no modifications to the vehicle and the odometer does NOT advance during towing. One must rigidly follow the towing instructions in the Owners Manual, i.e. run the engine while shifting through the gears of the CRV every 200-300 miles of towing (to keep the transmission lubricated). We have seen many other CRVs being towed behind coaches as we travel around the country and have two friends that happy with their CRV toads also. This is not a commercial but the Honda CRV was voted the best in its class this year. We have had zero maintenance problems with the vehicle so far.

Suncircles