Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-26-2019, 12:09 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Bathroom Smell

I have a 2004 Journey, 40', DP. This is only the 4th run out so I'm still learning the rig. Since Nov 2018 we have had a urine smell in the bathroom commode room that comes and goes like a ghost. The smell is so random it is hard to pin point why. My wife has cleaned the toilet, floor, wall and the brush container when it happens, then sprays everything with vinegar. We have an air cleaner and spay in the bathroom and use them a lot when it happens. I have went out and dumped the tank, filling the tank, and repeat process two more times. After the dump and flush I always add water in the tank. My wife will add two tablets of Aqua Kem Toss-ins for order control. Also add Zep citrus degreaser. We have checked the wind direction and that doesn't matter. We add extra water in the toilet, thinking that will help. Black water tank roof vent is open and clear. I believe the entire bathroom floor has been re-tiled. Heat and AC vents work, and we have a vent pillow in the ceiling vent to help control heat transfer. Leaving the door open doesn't help. We have not changed the toilet seal. Then other days and times we would have "no smell".
Brickwallbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 03:19 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

Just a stab in the dark. The roof vent, you said it was clear. I take it you took the cover off and let the garden hose run through it. You might try a different type cover. I had a unit that when the wind was just right I would get a smell. I replaced it with the Camco Cyclone Rotating Sewer Plumbing Vent. This seemed to help the problem.
be happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 05:06 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper