Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO FLEET | MOTORHOMES and TRAILERS > Winnebago Class A Motorhomes
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-05-2021, 06:56 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Automatic power transfer switch doesn’t transfer to gennerator

hi all im new to the winne motor home world we have a 2000 chieftain 35ft 2 slides with a auto power transfer switch ps245l 30amp i under stand they dont make this switch any more anyone out there know what the replacement is.
also there are 2 extra 12 gauge wires connected to the switch one goes to the main harness to bus and the other is connected to the generator side what do they power . i for got to mention my generator is putting out 120 volts to the switch please help thanks in advance
trucks38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2021, 08:12 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Finding the right info can be a big start! I do not know what the extra wires would be but this is a link to what I believe is the wiring schematic for the 110 on your RV. Perhaps a way to sort what was factory fresh and what might have been added?
Five pages to sort which options you may/may not have:
https://www.winnebago.com/Files/File...000/133884.pdf

A point on factory wiring is the labels they use and the wire ID chart. If those spare wires have a code stamped on the sides, maybe looking them up on this chart would be good for a "from" and "to" idea?

https://www.winnebago.com/Files/File...ical_guide.pdf
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wire id.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	179335  
Morich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2021, 08:43 PM   #3

OP: Are you sure you only have 30A service and not 50A?

Should be pretty obvious by looking at the shore power plug.

What type of generator do you have?