Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2013, 09:45 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Velroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 13
2012 Vista T Electrical Questions

I just bought a 2012 Vista T with 4000 miles and need to sort out some problems.

Quest. 1

Where do I plug the power cord when running the 4KW Generator?

My old 89' winn super chief had a out let right next to the compartment where I could plug in the power cord.

Quest. 2

When I plug my power cord from my RV to my garage 110 V plugs that have ground fault outlets, the outlets trip. I have checked the garage outlets for proper polarity and they check out fine.

Thanks
Bob
Velroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 02:35 PM   #2
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,648
Bob, please look at Section 6 page 6 of your owners manual. Here is a copy: http://www.winnebagoind.com/resource...12/12Vista.pdf

Hope this help. Happy trails,
Rick
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:56 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Le Claire, Iowa
Posts: 169
Your MH has an ATS. auto transfer switch which meanns that you do not have to plug the gen into a MH recepticle. The default source if both are available is the genny.

The ground fault plug is not designed to power a 30 amp system. You should up grade the plug to a RV 30 amp and have adequit wireing and breaker.
ghutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 04:17 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 486
If you used a proper adaptor, it should be able plug into a 15 amp GFI outlet, after all, 15-20 amp campground pedestals are usually GFI outlets. Unless you're trying to use air conditioner, you should be fine on 15 amps to run inverter/charger, refrigerator, and lights. What other loads are on that circuit in your house? If you have freezer or other items on that circuit, you could be overloading it. You said you checked the outlet's polarity, how about the cord or adaptor plug?
If you decide to upgrade house outlet to 30 amps, be sure it's wired for a 30 amp 120 volt set up. Electricians usually wire 30 amp outlets for 240 v Dryer or Range outlets and you'll fry your electronics in an RV.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 06:38 PM   #5
Winnebago Master
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 2,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghutch View Post
Your MH has an ATS. auto transfer switch which meanns that you do not have to plug the gen into a MH recepticle. The default source if both are available is the genny.

The ground fault plug is not designed to power a 30 amp system. You should up grade the plug to a RV 30 amp and have adequit wireing and breaker.
Are you certain his coach has this option? The operators manual shows the "standard" 30A service and "optional" 50A with ATS.

Velroc needs to know which he has.
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson (RIP), 2011 Meridian 40U, FL XCL, ISL 380HP/DEF, Al 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox TruCenter & tow equip.,EEZTire TPMS.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:46 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 486
Velroc (Bob) if you have a 30 amp shore cord (3 prong plug) then you have to plug the shore cord in to the outlet in the utility compartment. If you have a 50 amp (4 prong plug) you don't have to do anything, the Automatic Transfer Switch (ATS) senses the current and changes it from shore to generator.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:50 PM   #7
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Le Claire, Iowa
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerichorick View Post
Are you certain his coach has this option? The operators manual shows the "standard" 30A service and "optional" 50A with ATS.

Velroc needs to know which he has.
I assumed his has it, as my 2012 does. The 30T is a 30 amp coach single AC, 50 amp not needed.
ghutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 10:05 PM   #8
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 29
My 30T has an ATS as stated in an earlier post...start the genset,wait 20 seconds or so,and bingo!!!....not sure if it was an option or not,bought the coach of the lot...........good luck
__________________
Tom, Eileen,and Sandy...10y.o. Jack Russell
Amateur Radio Operator K3RX 20113 Winnebago Vista 30T
Ford F53/V10. 5 Star tuned, 2015 Subaru Forester 6 speed Manual toad
tomrx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 vista OS door locks by accident Velroc Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 6 03-21-2014 09:09 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×