Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-15-2021, 01:24 PM   #1
New to Class A

2008 Itasca Suncruiser 35L Battery Disconnect

Hi, Newbie here,

First week owning a Class A motorhome and left the house battery switch on. Seems to drain the batteries anyway even when its off though. So I drained the house batteries to zero... I know that I am not supposed to go below 50% but forgot being a newbie.
I put the charger on the house bank last night and left it charging. Haven't looked at it yet. They are a new set of batteries from the dealer, just wondering if what I did damaged them at all. Two 6VDC in series and was told they are golf cart batteries (Look full car size though). Need to look at the brand and model.

I am thinking it might be a good idea to install a battery cutoff switch but am concerned that those modules that are obviously still connected with the OEM switch off need to have power. I'd use that switch only when leaving it sit for more than a couple days.

Comments and experience are welcome.

Thank you!
Pwelco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2021, 03:52 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

The standard battery disconnect switch, does disconnect alot of the 12 v. items in the coach. However with that being said it also leave a lot of 12v. items on, witch will drain the battery rather fast. The propane detector is a big one, the radio, a lot of things turned off still use 12v to keep memory and are not effected by the disconnect switch.

To do a total disconnect you will have to install your own switch as close to the coach batteries as possible. That will not hurt any of the systems, its just like removing the batteries for winter storage. Or if you store where 120v is available just keep unit plugged in.
be happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2021, 04:29 AM   #3
Just Trying to Help

pwelco-

First off, welcome to winnieowners!