Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-25-2020, 01:20 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

2002 Itasca Sunrise Starting issue

Hello,
I am new to motor homes but have been around pull campers most of my life. We bought a 2002 Itasca Sunrise last year and love it! I have it parked in my driveway and have started it every month during the winter. I tried to start it yesterday but nothing. No lights clicks or anything. The slide and jacks also have no power. Everything in the living area works but not the cockpit. I tried the auxiliary switch and still nothing. Has anyone had this issue before?
mwdcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 03:57 PM   #2
Site Team

It sounds like your chassis battery is dead - or the cabling is disconnected, loose or corroded. That would be your first place to start. This assumes you've turned on your power disconnects, of course.

The slide and jacks are powered from the chassis battery - same as the RV's engine starter motor.

So, everything is pointing to one of the above mentioned items.
Old 05-25-2020, 04:35 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

Common problem for new users. There are small things like radio presets and ignition parts which are called "parasitic drains",which are constantly using power from the battery. If there is not some method used to keep them charge or disconnected, the starting battery will go dead. First step is to charge the battery but it is not unusual for them to be damaged if they are too far down for too long.
Morich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2020, 07:23 PM   #4
Winnebago Watcher

That was exactly what it was. It was my understanding that the auxiliary (mom) would start the RV and when that didn't happen, I assumed it was more complicated than it was. Thanks for the help.
mwdcoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 08:38 PM   #5
Winnebago Master