Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-21-2011, 11:35 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

03 Journey HW Heater replacement

Has anyone replaced a electronic ignition 10gal water heater from a Journey?, if so, could you share the procedure. Any pics you have would be great too.
Thanks in advance.
Golfinscorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 12:35 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I've no knowledge with changing one in a MH but my experience has been "if the tank is not busted it can be repaired". I replace an average of 2 a year in my rental properties and repair several more.
Dadeaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 03:17 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/atwoodwaterheater.pdf

This may help to trouble shoot.
Old 02-22-2011, 12:25 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

I have removed mine, not really a hard task. The hardest part to me was getting the lip unsealed from the coach, uky black sealant. After removing all the screws around the lip I used a putty knife and pliers to unstick it.

On mine I disconnected the LP line, & pulled it out slowly, to a point I could disconnect the 12V wire, and water lines, then pulled it out onto a bench. Then removed the 120V wire from the back and the motoraid coolant hoses (not sure if yours has motoraid or not.

They have changed their wiring on the newer models, where both the LP and AC sides are turned on and off by 12 volt relay. If you can't find one wired like yours, then you will need to add an additional 12V wire from the one place to heater, or rewire heater to use your existing 120V setup.
Old 02-22-2011, 03:39 PM   #5
Winnebago Master