Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2008, 04:22 AM   #1
GG1
Winnie-Wise
 
GG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WHITING,NJ,USA
Posts: 465
We have cable TV where we are staying. The picture has a lot of snow and is poor on all channels when in cable mode. When I switch to satellite the picture is perfect. All other functions are good ie: vcr crank up antenna all good. I have run a seperate line from the campground connection to an additional tv outside and it works good. Does Winnebago have a wireing diagram to show where the cable connections are and do the Wineguard switch boxes ever go bad?
__________________
07 Itasca Ellipse 40fd, 2014 Honda CRV, greyhound lab mix, pit pointer mix(RIP bessie) , shar pei mix, stupid cat, wife
GG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 04:22 AM   #2
GG1
Winnie-Wise
 
GG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WHITING,NJ,USA
Posts: 465
We have cable TV where we are staying. The picture has a lot of snow and is poor on all channels when in cable mode. When I switch to satellite the picture is perfect. All other functions are good ie: vcr crank up antenna all good. I have run a seperate line from the campground connection to an additional tv outside and it works good. Does Winnebago have a wireing diagram to show where the cable connections are and do the Wineguard switch boxes ever go bad?
__________________
07 Itasca Ellipse 40fd, 2014 Honda CRV, greyhound lab mix, pit pointer mix(RIP bessie) , shar pei mix, stupid cat, wife
GG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 04:31 AM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
Petro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 1,483
GG1;

You did not say if you have a satellite antenna or not and if that works well on the satellite switch?

There may be a wrong connection on the back of your box. When you look on the back each cable input is marked.

Don
__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 07:51 AM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 222
Did you try tightening the Coax in the back of the Winegard where your Cable Coax comes into the Winegard? If that is tight and the other end is tight (check that one first), then you might have to run a new cable and that will not be easy.
Frank O.
__________________
2006 Itasca Sunrise 35A
Niwot, Colorado
FrankO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 08:12 AM   #5
Winnie-Wise
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 429
I had the box replaced under warranty and it still wasn't right. Took it back and they discovered it was wired wrong. They rewired the box and all is well.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 03:50 PM   #6
GG1
Winnie-Wise
 
GG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WHITING,NJ,USA
Posts: 465
Petro;
The satellite works fine on all tv's front back & vcr, the vcr sends a good picture to all the tv's, also the connections on back of the wineguard have never been touched. Its the original box since 02.
__________________
07 Itasca Ellipse 40fd, 2014 Honda CRV, greyhound lab mix, pit pointer mix(RIP bessie) , shar pei mix, stupid cat, wife
GG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 06:59 PM   #7
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Buxton, North Dakota
Posts: 1,037
It probably is a loose coax F-connector on the switch or Cable Input in the rear. It is possibly a bad switch position, if so, your Aux position probably isn't being used and you could move Cable to Aux.
__________________
2003 Winnebago Adventurer 38G F53/ V10 605 watts of Solar
1999 Winnebago Brave 35C Handicap Equipped
F53/V10
1999 Jeep Cherokee & 1991 Jeep Wrangler Renegade
John Hilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 07:27 PM   #8
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 886
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GG1:
We have cable TV where we are staying. The picture has a lot of snow and is poor on all channels when in cable mode. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>GG!, Just a thought, I stayed in some campgrounds that had lousy cable infrastructure. If you go to another CG and you get the same problem then you can rule out the bad infrastructure theory.

My A/V box was recently replaced after getting blown up at the GNR by lightning.

I also just installed a digital converter box on my VCR circuit - it works great!
__________________
03 Adventurer 38G, Workhorse W22
F&R Track Bars, Safety+ , Ultrapower, Taylor Extremes, SGII
TST 507, Blue Ox, SMI, Koni FSD, CrossFire
RV/MH Hall of Fame - Lifetime Member
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 07:43 PM   #9
Winnie-Wise
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 429
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I have run a seperate line from the campground connection to an additional tv outside and it works good. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Wouldn't this rule out bad CG service?
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 07:49 PM   #10
Winnebago Owner
 
ROMAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Killeen, TX
Posts: 84
Also look at the connection on the back of the outside cable input connector. Since the cable in connector is used a lot it would be likely that the connection could be loose.
__________________
Gene
MSgt USAF Retired
2012 Winnebago Sightseer 33C F-53
ROMAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 09:02 PM   #11
Winnebago Owner
 
porscheracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Back at the stix'n'brix - East End, AR.
Posts: 197
I just went through all this on a friend's Monaco. In his case, it was the powered antenna connection, and replacement was the only option. I would try moving the coax from the CATV position to the AUX position, as was suggested.

Also, if you really want a direct replacement, shop around the auction sites. The only replacement currently available new is 2 or 3 generations away from the one you have now - and IMHO, not nearly as good.
__________________
Norm & Janet

FMCA; WIT; FCOA; Good Sam; Passport
porscheracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 01:10 AM   #12
Winnebago Owner
 
bjbkkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 81
This probably doesn't apply but I just moved from a campsite where I had to use my traditional antenna to a campsite that has cable TV. After running the channel setup twice and the channels still being snowy I remembered that I have to turn of the antenna signal booster when using cable Problem disappeared.
__________________
2008 Itasca Sunstar 32 K

2005 Honda Element
bjbkkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:15 AM   #13
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MN,USA
Posts: 217
You mentioned that you tested by running a "seperate cable" to a outside TV and it worked good. Try the same test using the cable you are connecting to the motorhome to the outside TV to determine if the problem is the cable you are connecting to the MH. I suspect the problem can be just a bad cable connection to the connector(s) of your hookup cable.
__________________
2004 Itasca Sunrise 36', Workhorse
2003 Suzuki XL7
Dsouthw524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 06:20 AM   #14
Winnebago Master
 
smlranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 2,170
Interesting...I had a similar problem on our current trip. We were at a KOA in Rapid City and on satellite (Kingdome). Front TV had perfect picture rear TV had snowy, jumpy picture. We were not hooked to cable. I checked all my connections and diddled with the switch box. Nothing seemed to fix the problem.

At our next stop in Sheridan, WY, rear TV pic was fine and has been since. I'm wondering if there wasn't some strange RF interference involved???
__________________
'07 Country Coach Allure 470 Siskiyou Summit #31578, Cummins ISL 425; 2014 Ford F150 toad; Air Force One Toad Brake.
Glen Allen, VA; Smith Mountain Lake, VA.
smlranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 08:38 AM   #15
Winnie-Wise
 
Rocket Heart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 282
If you have used this connection before and didn't any problems at other CG's, then I would look to the connections and or the condition of the cable company hook-ups to the campground.

Been in some place that the cable was really bad and moved to another CG and it was fine.
__________________
Tom "Rocket Heart" Emahiser
No RV at the present time.
Rocket Heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 04:13 PM   #16
GG1
Winnie-Wise
 
GG1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WHITING,NJ,USA
Posts: 465
Spoke to Wineguard tech they suggested I check the voltage coming from the switch box to the front tv when in the cable mode with the antenna booster off it should be 12-18 volts, this will see if the output on the switchbox is putting out enough power in cable mode. NOTE: I very seldom use the cable hookup maybe 5 times in 7yrs the picture has never been 100% in cable mode I just attributed it to poor campground cable. Tomorrow the voltage will be checked,(when I can locate my meter) thanks for all the input.
__________________
07 Itasca Ellipse 40fd, 2014 Honda CRV, greyhound lab mix, pit pointer mix(RIP bessie) , shar pei mix, stupid cat, wife
GG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Function of TV Switchbox Cardinal Pilot Tech | Toys and Gear 8 04-12-2013 12:50 PM
Question for Tour or Ellipse owners-TV switchbox hogdriver Winnebago Class A Motorhomes 8 04-02-2013 11:21 AM
Issues with Installed Wineguard Satellite System IBHIPRU2? Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 8 05-03-2008 07:04 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×