Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-09-2021, 07:26 PM   #1
Winnebago Master

Victron 500A Smart Shunt Review - Will Prowse

Will Prowse has reviewed the Victron 500A Smart Shunt. I have no experience with it but like its functionality and price as compared to other Victron monitoring products:

BobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2021, 10:20 PM   #2
Site Team

I have one and outside of the Bluetooth being too weak to be useable on the phone app inside my RV think it’s a good option. I have a Victron solar controller and the Bluetooth is strong enough to reach my phone anywhere inside the RV.

I added a Victron Bluetooth dongle to the SmartShunt and this fixed that shortcoming completely.

Maybe it’s just my device or just my RV but that’s been my experience.
Old 01-09-2021, 11:20 PM   #3
Proud “No Intent” Owner

Another great video from him. Victron does have some nice options, thanks for sharing!
Old 01-10-2021, 06:16 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativepart View Post
I have one and outside of the Bluetooth being too weak to be useable on the phone app inside my RV think it’s a good option. I have a Victron solar controller and the Bluetooth is strong enough to reach my phone anywhere inside the RV.

I added a Victron Bluetooth dongle to the SmartShunt and this fixed that shortcoming completely.

Maybe it’s just my device or just my RV but that’s been my experience.