Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-20-2012, 07:56 AM   #1
Winnie-Wise

Using a 2000w Inverter

I've never used an Inverter before and there are some things I'd like to know: Are they safe for your appliances? How long can you use them? (I guess that depends on what you're using them for) Are all outlets wired to use them?
My wife uses a breathing machine when she sleeps at night, for sleep Apnia. Can she plug it in and use it when we're dry camping?
Ramzfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:33 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

Inverters are safe for appliances with the following stipulations

It is a quality unit from a reputable manufacturer

It is appropriate for the type of appliance.

There are two types, Pure Sine Wave and Modified Sine Wave. If it is a quality unit with pure sine wave, you can safely use it with any appliance within it's rating. Some appliances with certain types of motors don't work well with Modified Sine Wave. These are microwaves, clocks, some battery charging devices and appliances that rely on 60 cycle timing.

Your wife's breathing machine more than likely has a 12 volt DC cigarette lighter type power supply available for it and would be the most efficient way of powering it.
1999 Jeep Cherokee & 1991 Jeep Wrangler Renegade
John Hilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:55 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

Regarding the MSW (modified sine wave) inverters. Most appliances seem to work okay with them with some exceptions. One is CPAP machines made by Resmed. As far as I know none of their machines are useable with MSW inverters.
Many and maybe all Respironics machines are usable with a MSW inverter.

Many of the newer machines will work with 12 vdc. Most of the older ones will also except for the heated humidifier. Check the manual or web site and see if a dc cord in available.