Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-19-2020, 07:23 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Surge Protector ?

Setting up my new to me 2003 Journey. Never had one before.
I understand I should get a surge protector to plug into at camp site. I have zero knowledge on what's is needed and price vary big.
Is a cheap ok or is there a great mid range.
Best place to buy?
Thanks Kenn
Kbwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2020, 08:36 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I personally like progressive industries products. I use one of their 50amp portables so I can plug into the pedestal and read the lights before I plug in. Mine is an older one and I am not familiar with their latest part numbers. They are not cheap. I know nothing about the lower cost products so I can't help you there.
eldermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2020, 08:43 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

Thanks
Old 03-19-2020, 10:06 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

Have a browse at Best Converter dot com. They have some Progressive Industries hard wired and portables at probably the best prices. I use one of the PT30X portables, and it works well.
Winterbagoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2020, 10:08 PM   #5
Site Team

You get what you pay for. It’s really cheap when you think about the cost of replacing all your electric equipment and appliances.

You can find them on the used market. We had a 30-amp RV and a Progressive Industries 30-amp surge guard. When we traded that RV for our new 50-amp RV we sold the old PT-30 on www.irv2.com’s classifieds.

So look on eBay, and RV websites for a used one.
Old 03-19-2020, 10:15 PM   #6
Winnebago Owner

Great info even a place to shop thank you
Old 03-19-2020, 10:17 PM   #7
Winnebago Owner

Can they go bad? I would not know how to test a used one
Old 03-19-2020, 10:18 PM   #8
Winnebago Master

I must respectfully disagree about buying used. Yes they can go bad.